Skip to main content

2003 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2003 Award Winners by category below.

Beer Writer of the Year 2003

  • Martyn Cornell


  • Gold: Martyn Cornell
  • Silver: Roger Protz


  • Gold: Paddy Shennan & Mike Chapple
  • Silver: Ned Halley

Trade & Technical

  • Gold: Graham Holter, Off License News
  • Silver: Lynne Pearce

Budweiser Budvar Travel Bursary

  • John Westlake