Skip to main content

2005 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2005 Award Winners by category below.

Beer Writer of the Year 2005

  • Alastair Gilmour

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Michael Jackson

The Artois Bock Award for National Journalism

  • Winner: Jonathan Ray
  • Runner up: Carol Midgley

Cains Finest Lager Award for Regional Journalism

  • Winner: Alastair Gilmour
  • Runner up: Mike Chapple

The Bishops Finger Beer with Food Award

  • Martyn Cornell

Trade and Technical Journalism Award

  • Graham Holter

Budweiser Budvar Travel Bursary

  • Tim Webb

Beer and Brewing Award

  • John Keeling, Fuller’s