Skip to main content

2006 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2006 Award Winners by category below.

Beer Writer of the Year 2006

  • Ben McFarland

Award for National Journalism

  • Winner: Ben McFarland
  • Runner-up: Adrian Tierney-Jones

Cains Finest Lager Award for Regional Journalism

  • Winner: Mike Chapple
  • Runner-up: Simon Jenkins

Wells & Young’s Trade and Technical Journalism Award

  • Winner: Adam Withrington
  • Runner-up: Nigel Huddleston

Bishop’s Finger Award for Beer and Food Writing

  • Richard Fox

Whitstable Bay Organic Brewed Sustainability Writing Award

  • Dominic Roskrow

Budvar Travel Bursary

  • Pete Brown

Judges’ Award for Excellence

  • John Westlake

Brewer of the Year

  • Roger Ryman, St Austell