Skip to main content

2007 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2007 Award Winners by category below.

Beer Writer of the Year 2007

  • Alastair Gilmour
National Award

  • Gold: Jonathan Ray, Freelance Drinks Writer and The Daily Telegraph
  • Silver: Roger Protz, Freelance Beer Writer
Cains Finest Lager Award for Regional Journalism

  • Gold: Alastair Gilmour, Newcastle Journal
  • Silver: Duncan Brodie, East Anglian Times
Wells & Young’s Trade & Technical Journalism Award

  • Gold: Adam Withrington, The Publican
  • Silver: Christine Boggis, Off Licence News
Bishop’s Finger Award for Beer and Food Writing

  • Fiona Beckett and Will Beckett
Whitstable Bay Organic Brewed Sustainability Writing Award

  • Kate Prout, ITV News
Budweiser Budvar John White Travel Bursary
  • Adrian Tierney-Jones, Freelance Journalist
Brewer of the Year

  • Mike Powell-Evans, Adnams Brewery