Skip to main content

2008 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2008 Award Winners by category below.

Beer Writer of the Year 2008

  • Zak Avery
Coors Brewers National Journalism Awards

  • Gold: Jeff Evans
  • Silver: Adrian Tierney-Jones
Deuchars IPA Regional Journalism Awards

  • Gold: Brian Glover
  • Silver: Mike Chapple

Budvar John White Travel Bursary

  • Ben McFarland and Tom Sandham
Bishops Finger Award for Beer & Food Writing

  • Ben McFarland

Brains SA Gold New Media Awards

  • Gold: Zak Avery
  • Silver: Pete Brown

Wells & Young’s Business to Business Journalism Awards

  • Gold: Adam Withrington
  • Silver: Larry Nelson
Brewer of the Year
  • Alastair Hook