Skip to main content

2009 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2009 Award Winners by category below.

The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2009

  • Pete Brown

Budweiser Budvar John White Travel Bursary

  • Pete Brown

Shepherd Neame Bishop’s Finger Award for Beer and Food Writing

  • Ben McFarland

Brains SA Gold New Media Award

  • Winner: Mark Dredge
  • Runner-up: Dave Bailey

Deuchars IPA Regional Journalism Award

  • Winner: Alastair Gilmour
  • Runner-up: Simon Jenkins

Wells & Young’s Business to Business Journalism Award

  • Winner: Jeff Evans
  • Runner-up: Rob Brown, Brewers’ Guardian

Brewer of the Year 2009

  • Miles Jenner, Harvey’s Brewery