Skip to main content

2011 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2011 Award Winners by category below.


The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2011

  • Ben McFarland


Molson Coors Award for Best Writing in National Media

  • Winner: Adrian Tierney-Jones
  • Silver Award: Will Hawkes


Adnams Award for Best Writing in Regional Media

  • Winner: Marverine Cole
  • Silver Award: Gavin Aitchison


Fuller’s ESB Award for Best Writing for the Beer and Pub Trade

  • Winner: Ben McFarland
  • Silver Award: Glynn Davis


Brains SA Gold Award for Best Use of Online Media

  • Winner: Martyn Cornell
  • Silver Award: Mark Charlwood


Budweiser Budvar John White Travel Bursary

  • Winner: Des de Moor


Shepherd Neame 1698 Award for Beer and Food Writing

  • Winner: Mark Dredge


Thwaites Award for Best Corporate Communications

  • Winner: Pete Brown


Brewer of the Year 2011

  • Evin O’Riordain, Kernel Brewery


More on the 2011 Annual Awards and our sponsors here.