Skip to main content

2012 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2012 Award Winners by category below.


The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2012

  • Pete Brown


Molson Coors Award for Writing in National Media

  • Winner: Roger Protz
  • Silver Award: Dan Saladino


Fuller’s ESB Award for Writing for the Beer and Pub Trade

  • Winner: Pete Brown
  • Silver Award: Roger Protz


Adnams Award for Best Writing in Regional Media

  • Winner: Alastair Gilmour
  • Silver Award: Simon Jenkins


Brains SA Gold Award for Best Use of Online Media

  • Winner: Will Hawkes
  • Silver Award: Pete Brown


Greene King IPA Travel Bursary

  • Winner: Tim Webb
  • Silver Award: Tim Hampson


Shepherd Neame 1698 Award for Beer and Food Writing

  • Winner: Martyn Cornell


Thwaites Award for Corporate Communications

  • Winner: Carlsberg UK


Brewer of the Year 2012

  • Sara Barton, Brewsters Brewery

More on the 2012 Annual Awards and our sponsors here.