Skip to main content

2013 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2013 Award Winners by category below.


The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2013

  • Will Hawkes


Molson Coors Award for Writing in National Media

  • Winner: Will Hawkes
  • Silver Award: Sophie Atherton


Adnams Award for Best Writing in Regional Media

  • Winner: Gavin Aitchison
  • Silver Award: Leigh Linley


Fuller’s ESB Award for Writing for the Beer and Pub Trade

  • Winner: Roger Protz
  • Silver Award: Jeff Evans


Greene King IPA Travel Bursary

  • Winner: Martyn Cornell
  • Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones


Shepherd Neame 1698 Award for Beer and Food Writing

  • Winner: Mark Dredge


Thwaites Award for Corporate Communications

  • Winner: British Beer & Pub Association


Brains SA Gold Award for Best Use of Online Media

  • Winner: Richard Taylor
  • Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones


Brewer of the Year

  • Derek Prentice, Fuller Smith & Turner

More on the 2013 Annual Awards and our sponsors here.