Skip to main content

2014 Annual Awards

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2014 Award Winners by category below.


The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2014

  • Boak & Bailey


Molson Coors Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media

  • Winner: Boak & Bailey
  • Silver Award: Mark Dredge


Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media

  • Winner: Alastair Gilmour
  • Silver Award: John Owen


Fuller’s ESB Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media 

  • Winner: Nigel Huddleston
  • Silver Award: Roger Protz


Young Beer Writer of the Year

  • Winner: Pip Sprake
  • Highly Commended: Paul Bates


Greene King IPA Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

  • Winner: Tim Webb
  • Silver Award: Tim Skelton


Shepherd Neame 1698 Award for Best Beer & Food Writer

  • Winner: Mark Dredge
  • Silver Award: Jane Peyton


Thwaites Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications

  • Winner: Carlsberg UK


Brains SA Gold Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online

  • Winner: Martyn Cornell
  • Silver Award: Boak & Bailey


Brewer of the Year

  • Mark Tranter, Burning Sky Brewery

More on the 2014 Annual Awards and our sponsors here.