Skip to main content

2017 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2017 Award Winners by category below.

2017 Award Winners

The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2017

  • Adrian Tierney-Jones


Shepherd Neame Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media

  • Winner: Adrian Tierney-Jones
  • Silver Award: Will Hawkes


Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media

  • Winner: Simon Jenkins
  • Silver Award: Alastair Gilmour


Fuller’s London Pride Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media

  • Winner: Susanna Forbes
  • Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones


Maltsmiths Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online

  • Winner: Emma Inch
  • Silver Award: Jonny Garrett


St Austell Brewery Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

  • Winner: Stephen Beaumont & Tim Webb
  • Silver Award: Chris Elston


There’s A Beer For That Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

  • Winner: Lucy Stevenson and Louise Mulroy
  • Silver Award: Jane Peyton


 Guild Award for Best Young Beer Writer of the Year

  • Winner: James Beeson
  • Silver Award: Joe Tindall


Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications

  • Winner: Carlsberg UK


Guild Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator

  • Winner: Oli Haydon
  • Highly Commended: Matthew Hickman


Brewer of the Year

  • Justin Hawke, Moor Beer


More on the 2017 Annual Awards and our sponsors here.