Skip to main content

2018 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2018 Award Winners by category below.


2018 Award Winners

The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2018

  • Emma Inch


Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media

  • Winner: Emma Inch
  • Silver Award: Melissa Cole


Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media

  • Winner: Alastair Gilmour
  • Silver Award: Susan & Judith Boyle


Fuller’s London Pride Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media

  • Winner: Will Hawkes
  • Silver Award: James Beeson
  • Commended: Matthew Curtis


Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online

  • Winner: Emma Inch
  • Silver Award: Matthew Curtis


St Austell Brewery Award for Best Young Beer Writer of the Year

  • Winner: Eoghan Walsh
  • Silver Award: Katie Taylor
  • Commended: James Beeson


Guild Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

  • Winner: Jonny Garrett
  • Silver Award: Mark Dredge


Long Live the Local Award for Best Writer about Pubs

  • Winners: Jessica Boak & Ray Bailey
  • Commended: Bob Jeffrey


Guild Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator

  • Winner: Martin Oates
  • Commended: Oli Carter Esdale


Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications

  • Winner: Roosters Brewery


Brewer of the Year:

  • John Keeling, recently retired from Fuller’s
  • Jaega Wise, Wild Card Brewery


More on the 2018 Annual Awards and our sponsors here.