Skip to main content

2019 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

This year’s Awards attracted more than 150 entries including books, newspaper articles, blogs, and radio broadcasts.

Find a full list of our 2019 Award Winners by category below, along with a link to a sample of their award-winning work.

2019 Award Winners

The Michael Jackson Gold Award for Beer Writer of the Year 2019


Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer, National Media


Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer, Regional Media


Fuller Smith & Turner Award for Best Beer Writer, Trade Media


Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator, Online


St Austell Family Group Award for Best Young Beer Writer


Asahi Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer


Carlsberg UK Award for Best Writing on Sustainability in Beer and Pubs


Long Live the Local Award for Best Writer about Pubs


Guild Award for Best Beer Broadcaster


Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Corporate Communications

Guild Award for Best Beer Citizen Communicator


SIBA Award for Brewer of the Year


More on our 2019 Annual Awards and our sponsors here.