Skip to main content
13th July 2018

Bake Off winner named Beer Drinker 2018

(l-r): Andrew Griffiths MP, Lord Philip Smith and Stonegate Chairman Ian Payne take part in a Parliamentary “whisk off” with Candice Brown, the 2018 Beer Drinker of the Year.
Great British Bake-Off winner, Candice Brown, has been named as the “Beer Drinker of the Year” for 2018 by the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group.   The presentation was made at the Beer Group’s Annual Awards Dinner in Westminster which attracted over 200 MPs, Peers and senior industry figures.

Mike Wood MP, the Chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group said “Candice shot to fame winning Bake Off by creating a  replica of her parents’ pub in gingerbread— complete with a sticky carpet.  She remembers how her mum used to cook pub grub for the customers and that’s the kind of food she still loves.”

“Since winning Bake Off she has used her celebrity to encourage young people working in the Pub and Hospitality sector.  Candice came to the House of Commons for a reception for apprentices from the brewing and pub sector that was hosted by Andrew Griffiths MP, the Minister for Small Business.  She told the participants  how she learned to cook in the pub and picked up so many other important life skills too.”

The Beer Group also presented its other awards at the dinner:

  • Brewer of the Year: Sara Barton, Brewster’s Brewery
  • Lifetime Achievement: Annabelle Smith and Jane Peyton
  • Special Award: Colin Valentine and Tim Page, CAMRA
  • Beer Parliamentarian of the Year: Ruth Smeeth, MP for Stoke North.
  • Pub Parliamentarian of the Year: Ben Bradley, MP for Mansfield.
  • PubAid Award:  Stonegate Pub Company.


For more information: Paul Hegarty, Honorary Secretary, All Party Parliamentary Beer Group, or 07808 096250

Notes to Editors

Previous Beer Drinkers of the Year:

Rt. Hon. Kenneth Clarke QC MP 1994
Jack Charlton OBE 1995
Anna Chancellor 1996
John Lowe 1997
John Cryne 1998
Michael Parkinson OBE 1999
Edward Kelsey aka Joe Grundy of the Archers 2000
Darren Gough 2001
HRH the Prince of Wales 2002
Lord Jones of Cheltenham 2003
Roger Protz 2004
Rt. Hon. Gordon Brown MP 2005
Andrew “Freddie” Flintoff 2006
Michel Roux 2007
Nick Hewer 2008
David and Robert Aynesworth 2009
John Grogan 2010
Sriram Aylur 2011
Peter Hendy OBE 2012
Rt. Hon. George Osborne MP 2013
Robert Humphreys MBE 2014
The Sun Newspaper 2015
Cathy Price 2016
Andrew Griffiths MP 2017