Skip to main content
21st May 2012


London’s Transport Commissioner Peter Hendy was made “Beer Drinker of the Year” by the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group yesterday. Announcing the award the Group’s Chairman, Burton MP Andrew Griffiths, praised the Commissioner’s imaginative solution to likely congestion on London’s buses and tubes during the imminent Olympics; he advised commuters to postpone their journeys home by spending an hour or two with a pint in the pub during the Games, sensible and practical advice likely also to give the Capital’s pubs a boost at the same time. “A most worthy recipient of our top accolade”, he said.

The Group also presented awards to the head brewer of Hall & Woodhouse in Dorset, Toby Heasman, who was made “Brewer of the Year” on the nomination of the Institute of Brewing and Distilling,  and to Nigel Sadler of Wibbler’s Brewery whose work promoting beer knowledge was recognised with the first “Beer Sommelier of the Year” award, sponsored by the Beer Academy.

Nick Lloyd, former MD of Everards of Leicester, was presented with a “Lifetime Achievement Award” in recognition of his selfless contribution to the community and the environment.

Andrew Griffiths MP, Chairman of the Group, presents the Beer Drinker of the Year Award to Peter Hendy OBE