Skip to main content
4th September 2013

Beer Writing Awards deadline extended to 13 September

The Guild of British Beer Writers is extending the deadline for its annual awards, giving would-be entrants an additional week to submit their work. Entries will now close on Friday, 13 September.

Winners and runners up in this year’s awards will share a prize fund of £8,500. Entries are welcomed to any of the seven categories and the winner of one will be considered for the title of Beer Writer of the Year 2013.  All winners will be announced at an Awards dinner in London on 6 December.

The competition is open to writers, broadcasters, photographers, poets, illustrators, designers, webmasters and bloggers whose work has broadened the public’s knowledge of beer and pubs. You do NOT have to be a member of the Guild of Beer Writers to enter and we welcome nominations by third parties – so if you have been impressed by a press article, book or blog about beer, please think about entering it.

Judging this year’s entries is a panel of judges chaired by Pete Brown, current Beer Writer of the Year and including: Karen Barnes, editor of Delicious magazine; Bill Dobson, head brewer at SA Brain; David Wilson, public affairs director at the British Beer & Pub Association and Craig Woodhouse, political correspondent at The Sun and part of the team which spearheaded the newspaper’s successful campaign to abolish the beer duty escalator.

Entries for this year’s Awards must have been published between 1 September 2012 and 31 August 2013.  Fulldetails of how to enter, including a list of the categories and downloadable entry and nomination forms, can be found on the British Guild of Beer Writers website


Issued by:                    British Guild of Beer Writers


Further information:    Ros Shiel, ShielPorter Communications

07841 694137 /