Skip to main content
6th September 2016

Beer Writing Awards deadline extended to 19 September

BGBW logo

The British Guild of Beer Writers is extending the deadline for this year’s awards for beer writing. Entries will now close on Monday, 19 September.

Winners and runners up in this year’s awards will share a prize fund of £12,000. All winners, runners-up and the overall Beer Writer of the Year 2016, will be announced at an Awards dinner in London on Thursday 1 December.

The competition is open to writers, broadcasters, photographers, poets, illustrators, designers, webmasters and bloggers whose work has furthered the Guild’s mission “to extend public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs”.

You do NOT have to be a member of the Guild of Beer Writers to enter and we welcome nominations by third parties – so if you have been impressed by a press article, book or blog about beer, please think about entering it.

Judges this year include Dave Myers – one half of the ‘Hairy Bikers’ TV chefs duo; Rebecca Smithers, consumer affairs correspondent at The Guardian; Kate Nicholls, chief executive of the Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers and Roger Ryman, head brewer at St Austell Brewery.  Last year’s Beer Writer of the Year, Breandán Kearney, chairs the panel. .


This year’s categories are:

  • Molson Coors Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media
  • Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media
  • Fuller’s 1845 Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media
  • Caledonian Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online
  • Shepherd Neame Classic Collection Award for Best Beer and Food Writer
  • Badger Ales Award for Best Young Beer Writer
  • There’s A Beer For That Award for Best Beer Broadcaster
  • St Austell Brewery Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer.
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications

Full details of how to enter the Awards, including a list of the categories, criteria and downloadable entry and nomination forms, can be found on the British Guild of Beer Writers website Entries must have been published between 1 September 2015 and 31 August 2016.


Issued by:                   British Guild of Beer Writers

T: @BeerWriteAwards

Further information:    Ros Shiel, ShielPorter Communications

07841 694137 /


Notes to editors

The British Guild of Beer Writers was formed in 1988 to help spread the word about beers, brewing and pubs. With around 250 members, its mission is “to improve the standards of beer writing and improve the public knowledge of beer and pubs.”  Its members include the cream of the country’s beer media experts – be they journalists, authors, producers, photographers, illustrators or PR people. Supporters of the Guild include: brewers, pub companies, and many suppliers associated with the brewing trade.

The Guild is grateful to the following sponsors, whose support makes possible our annual awards and dinner: