Skip to main content
14th October 2019

Choose our Brewer of the Year 2019 – deadline extended

Brewers of the Year 2018 John Keeling (left) and Jaega Wise with Guild Chair Pete Brown

We’re extending the deadline for nominations for our Brewer of the Year Award to give more members a chance to take part.  We need your nominations by next Monday, 21st October.  

Every year, the Guild of Beer Writers kicks off its annual awards ceremony by announcing its Brewer of the Year. Last year, for the first time, the Board opened up the process by asking members to first nominate candidates and then vote for the winner.  It was a great success and this is now the way the winner of this  illustrious award will be chosen.

So, if there’s a brewer who you think deserves this accolade, please email Guild Chair Pete Brown on with the brewer’s name and a line or two stating why you think they should win. The Guild Board will then go through the suggestions we receive and create a shortlist which will then be launched online. All Guild members –  full, associate and corporate – will then have a chance to vote and the winner will be announced at the Guild dinner on 3rd December.

Last year, John Keeling and Jaega Wise were announced joint winners of the Award after a dead tie on member votes. Previous winners include Justin Hawke, Jenn Merrick, Richard Westwood, Sara Barton and Roger Ryman.