Skip to main content
30th August 2019

Guild Awards: deadline extended to 20 September

The 2018 Awards winners

The deadline for this year’s Awards has been extended to Friday 20 September, giving members more time to enter one of our 11 categories for a share of this year’s £13,500 prize fund.
Please view our website for details of how to enter.

This year’s categories are:

  • Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer, National Media
  • Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer, Regional Media
  • Fuller Smith & Turner Award for Best Beer Writer, Trade Media
  • Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator,  Online
  • St Austell Family Group Award for Best Young Beer Writer
  • Asahi Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer
  • NEW FOR 2019: Carlsberg UK Award for Best Writing on Sustainability in Beer and Pubs
  • Long Live The Local Award for Best Writer about Pubs
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Broadcaster
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Citizen Communicator

We will publish a shortlist in November and the winners and runners up will be unveiled at our annual awards dinner on 3 December at One Great George Street, Westminster. We will also name our Beer Writer of the Year and winner of the  SIBA Brewer of the Year title at the same event.

Note that entry to the awards is free of charge for all Guild members but non-members are charged £50 (unless they are entering only the Citizen Communicator category).

The judges
This year’s judging panel, chaired by Beer Writer of the Year Emma Inch, comprises: Laurence Creamer, Social & Digital Lead on industry campaign Long Live The Local; Tim Hayward, food & drink author, restaurant reviewer and regular on Radio 4’s Kitchen Cabinet;: Charlie McVeigh, founder of Draft House; Tony Naylor, food & drink writer contributing to The Guardian and BBC Good Food; Ross O’Hara, head brewer at Greene King; Kate Oppenheim, hospitality sector journalist and communications expert, currently publisher and editor of BII News; Tony Sophoclides, Strategic Affairs Director at UKHospitality

How to enter
Details of all categories, and advice on how to submit entries, can be found on the Guild’s website. Entries must be received by the closing date of Friday 20 September and works submitted must have been published between 1 September 2018 and 31 August 2019.

The Brewer of the Year Award is sponsored for the first time this year by SIBA. The winner is chosen by members, and details on how to vote will be sent later this year.