Skip to main content
29th September 2020

Guild Awards: closing date extended!

2019 Guild Awards winners
2019 Guild Awards winners

The deadline for entries to the Guild Awards 2020 has been extended to Wednesday 7 October, giving entrants an additional week to  submit work to one of this year’s nine categories.

The extension is being offered in recognition of the later launch for this year’s competition, and the subsequent addition of two further awards: the Budweiser Brewing Group for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers and the Carlsberg UK Award for Best Writing on  Sustainability in Beer and Pubs. In addition, the qualifying period for this year has been extended in the light of delays to publication because of COVID, so work published up to 30 September will be accepted.

We’re pleased to have sponsors for seven of our awards. Thanks to Asahi, Budweiser Brewing Group, Carlsberg UK, Greene King, Harvey’s, Heineken and Shepherd Neame. With their support, we will be able to offer our winners some cash prizes as well as a trophy.

The full list of this year’s awards is:

  • Asahi Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer
  • NEW: Budweiser Brewing Group Award for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers
  • Carlsberg UK Award for Best Writing on Sustainability in Beer and Pubs
  • Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer, Print Publications
  • Harvey’s Tom Paine Award for Best Beer Citizen Communicator
  • Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator, Online
  • NEW: Shepherd Neame Award for Best Beer & Pub Communications during lockdown
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Broadcaster
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Corporate Communications
  • SIBA Brewer of the Year Award (by member vote)

Entering the Awards is an easy, online process – though non-digital files can also be accepted by post – and is free of charge to Guild members. Entrants can enter as many categories as they want – but may only submit each piece of work into TWO categories.  Work must have been published between 1 September 2019 and 30 September 2020 to be eligible.

To find out more, and to enter, visit our Awards page.

We will announce a shortlist in November, and the category winners and runners up, and overall Beer Writer of the Year 2020, at a virtual presentation in December.

We look forward to receiving your entry.

Any questions, please contact Awards organiser Ros Shiel: