Skip to main content
23rd June 2021

Guild of Beer Writers awards to open for entries in July

Winners of the Guild Awards 2020, announced on Zoom
Winners of the Guild Awards 2020, announced on Zoom

Journalists, writers, bloggers, broadcasters and photographers who communicate about beer or pubs are invited to enter the Guild of Beer Writers’ annual awards. Entries will open in July, with a closing date of 10 September.

Last year’s awards were inevitably reshaped due to the pandemic, with the winners announced on Zoom.  This time, the Guild is planning to bring back its popular Awards dinner in London in December, where the category winners, overall Beer Writer of the Year and Brewer of the Year will be unveiled.

All entries will be judged on how well they further the Guild’s mission “to extend public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs”.  While categories are still being finalised, there will be opportunities for communicators in print and broadcast media, nationally, regionally and online, to enter their work.

Judging is carried out by a panel chaired by Lily Waite, the Guild’s current Beer Writer of the Year, and include: Keith Bott, MD of Titanic Brewery; Joanna Copestick, publisher at Kyle Books; Matt Eley, communications consultant and former editor of Inapub magazine; Paul Hegarty, Secretary of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group; Emma McClarkin, chief executive of the British Beer & Pub Association; Ned Palmer, cheesemonger and author; Valentine Warner, chef, writer and broadcaster and Georgina Young, brewing director at St Austell Brewery.

Sponsors for this year’s awards include: Asahi UK, Carlsberg UK, Greene King, Heineken, SIBA and VisitFlanders.

Guild Chair Pete Brown said, “We were delighted with the response to our Awards last year: despite the extraordinary and uncertain times, we received generous support from our sponsors, and entries from our members that were close to usual levels. It clearly demonstrated the respect and affection which so many people feel for our awards.

“That said, we’re very happy to be holding our Awards Dinner again this year. This has become a ‘must attend’ in the industry calendar, with bars provided by our sponsor brewers, wonderful food matched with beers and the company of around 200 Guild members and industry friends.”

Details of all categories with entry criteria will be published on the Guild’s website in July, with a closing date of 10 September. Work submitted must have been published between 1 October 2020 and 31 August 2021.

The Guild will publish a shortlist for all categories in November, and winners and runners up for each will be unveiled the Awards Dinner. One category winner will go on to win the overall Beer Writer of the Year Award and the Guild also will also name its Brewer of the Year, sponsored by SIBA, based on votes cast by Guild members.

The Guild Awards Dinner will be held on 2 December at One Great George Street, Victoria. Tickets for members and guests will go on sale on the Guild website later this year.