Skip to main content
10th July 2019

Jodie Kidd named Beer Drinker, 2019

Jodie Kidd, Beer Drinker of the Year

The All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group has named Jodie Kidd, the licensee of the Half Moon in Kirdford, Sussex as its “Beer Drinker of the Year” for 2019.  Jodie stared as a model when she was 15 and developed an amazingly diverse career as a racing driver, TV presenter, Strictly Come Dancing competitor, Celebrity Master Chef Finalist and pub landlady.

Mike Wood, Chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group and MP for Dudley South said “Jodie has been a tireless campaigner for UK beer and pubs.  Last October she led a delegation of brewers and fellow publicans to deliver a petition with over 100,000 signatures to 10 Downing Street that had been collected as part of the “Long Live the Local Campaign”.  This called for action in the budget of the eye wateringly high level of tax paid by UK beer and pubs. UK beer drinkers were enormously grateful that the Chancellor heeded their call”

“Jodie is vivid proof that beer and pub lovers are not all old, male and stale!”

The Beer Group also presented its other awards at the dinner:

  • Brewer of the Year: Jane Kershaw, Joseph Holt Brewery
  • Lifetime Achievement: Maureen Heffernan
  • Beer Parliamentarian of the Year: Nigel Evans, MP for Ribble Valley.
  • Pub Parliamentarian of the Year: Toby Perkins, MP for Chesterfield.
  • PubAid Award: Cameron’s Brewery Limited.


For more information: Paul Hegarty, Honorary Secretary, All Party Parliamentary Beer Group, or 07808 096250

Notes to Editors


Previous Beer Drinkers of the Year:

Rt. Hon. Kenneth Clarke QC MP 1994
Jack Charlton OBE 1995
Anna Chancellor 1996
John Lowe 1997
John Cryne 1998
Michael Parkinson OBE 1999
Edward Kelsey aka Joe Grundy of the Archers 2000
Darren Gough 2001
HRH the Prince of Wales 2002
Lord Jones of Cheltenham 2003
Roger Protz 2004
Rt. Hon. Gordon Brown MP 2005
Andrew “Freddie” Flintoff 2006
Michel Roux 2007
Nick Hewer 2008
David and Robert Aynesworth 2009
John Grogan 2010
Sriram Aylur 2011
Peter Hendy OBE 2012
Rt. Hon. George Osborne MP 2013
Robert Humphreys MBE 2014
The Sun Newspaper 2015
Cathy Price 2016
Andrew Griffiths MP

Candice Brown