Skip to main content
7th July 2023

Mike Wood MP named Beer Drinker of the Year for 2023 at the All Party Parliamentary Beer Group 30th Anniversary Awards Dinner

The All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group has named Mike Wood, MP for Dudley South and former Chairman of the Group, its “Beer Drinker of the Year” for 2023.  Mike was elected in 2015 and joined the Beer Group almost immediately. In 2017, he took on the Chairmanship of the Group and consistently championed the importance of beer and pubs to the UK economy and local communities. During his time as Chairman, the Beer Group held a number of Inquiries into issues such as pub business rates, the future of cask beer, and unlocking pubs’ potential.

The Beer Group Chairman, the Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP, said “When the Covid-19 Pandemic hit in 2020, Mike worked tirelessly to support the beer and pub sectors, among the hardest hit by the successive lockdowns and enforced closures. He was instrumental in raising the profile of the industry’s plight, working to secure meetings with Ministers and achieve a level of support for the industry that enabled businesses to survive and jobs to be saved.”

The Beer Group, which is celebrating its 30th Anniversary this year, also presented a number of other awards at the dinner:

  • Brewer of the Year: Rod White, Nottingham University
  • Lifetime Achievement: Dr Paul Hegarty, outgoing Secretary of the APPBG
  • Beer Parliamentarian of the Year: Lucy Powell, MP for Central Manchester
  • Pub Parliamentarian of the Year: Pete Wishart, MP for Perth and North Perthsire.
  • PubAid Award: Fuller’s
  • Special Award: Marietta Stuart-Smith, for services to the APPBG


Photo caption: Mike Wood, Beer Drinker of the Year

For further information: Rita King, Honorary Secretary, All Party Parliamentary Beer Group, or 07768 876793

Notes to Editors

Previous Beer Drinkers of the Year:

Rt. Hon. Kenneth Clarke QC MP 1994
Jack Charlton OBE 1995
Anna Chancellor 1996
John Lowe 1997
John Cryne 1998
Michael Parkinson OBE 1999
Edward Kelsey aka Joe Grundy of the Archers 2000
Darren Gough 2001
HRH the Prince of Wales 2002
Lord Jones of Cheltenham 2003
Roger Protz 2004
Rt. Hon. Gordon Brown MP 2005
Andrew “Freddie” Flintoff 2006
Michel Roux 2007
Nick Hewer 2008
David and Robert Aynesworth 2009
John Grogan 2010
Sriram Aylur 2011
Peter Hendy OBE 2012
Rt. Hon. George Osborne MP 2013
Robert Humphreys MBE 2014
The Sun Newspaper 2015
Cathy Price 2016
Andrew Griffiths MP
Candice Brown
Jodie Kidd
Tom Kerridge

Contact: Amanda Fry, P.A. & Admin Support, All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group,

Third-party news items that are posted on the Guild website’s news section come from press releases received by the Guild. These press releases are posted as they have been received and their publication on the Guild website is intended as an informational service provided to our members and website visitors. As such, the publication of a story from a third-party source is neither an endorsement of the content, nor its sender, by the Guild. For enquiries on any news item, please use the contact details that can be found at the bottom of each post.