Skip to main content

Two weeks left to enter Guild Awards; Harvey’s renews sponsorship of Citizen Communicator

2019 Guild Awards winners
2019 Guild Awards winners

Entries will close for this year’s Guild Awards in two weeks, on 10 September.  Journalists, writers, bloggers, broadcasters and other communicators are encouraged to submit their finest work from the past year to be in with a chance of joining the winners’ podium and taking a share of our highest-ever prize fund of £16,000.

At the same time, Harvey’s has renewed its sponsorship of the Harvey’s Tom Paine Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator. The award was renamed last year,  in honour of Tom Paine, a citizen communicator and author of The Rights of Man, who was an excise officer in Harvey’s home town of Lewes in the 18th century.  This category is aimed at those who write about beer or pubs for love rather than money, giving them a platform away from ‘big name’ paid writers.

Harvey’s join our other sponsors: Adnams, Asahi UK, Budweiser Brewing Group UK&I, Carlsberg Marston’s Brewing Company, Fuller, Smith & Turner, Greene King, HEINEKEN, Shepherd Neame, SIBA and VisitFlanders.  The total prize fund now stands at an all-time high of £16,000.

All entries will be judged on how well they further the Guild’s mission “to extend public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs”.  Entrants can submit to 13 categories, which include a new award this year for Best Book about Beer and Pubs.

Judging is carried out by a panel chaired by Emma Inch, Guild Chair; Keith Bott, MD of Titanic Brewery; Sarah Bridge, founder of the A Lady of Leisure travel website and former Mail on Sunday correspondent; Joanna Copestick, publisher at Kyle Books; Matt Eley, communications consultant and former editor of Inapub magazine; Paul Hegarty, Secretary of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group; Emma McClarkin, chief executive of the British Beer & Pub Association; Ned Palmer, cheesemonger and author; Valentine Warner, chef, writer and broadcaster and Georgina Young, brewing director at St Austell Brewery.

The Guild will publish a shortlist for all categories in November, and winners and runners up for each will be unveiled at the Awards Dinner. One category winner will go on to win the overall Beer Writer of the Year Award and the Guild also will also name its Brewer of the Year, sponsored by SIBA, based on votes cast by Guild members.

The Guild Awards Dinner will be held on 2 December at One Great George Street, Victoria. Tickets for members and guests will go on sale on the Guild website later this year.

Full details of all categories, and advice on how to submit entries, can be found on the Guild’s website. Entries must be received via our dedicated entry website by the closing date of 10 September and works submitted must have been published between 1 October 2020 and 31 August 2021.

This year’s categories

  • Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer, National Media
  • Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer, Regional Media
  • Heineken UK Award for Best Beer Communicator, Online
  • Asahi UK Award for Best Beer Broadcaster
  • Budweiser Brewing Group UK&I Award for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers
  • Carlsberg Marston’s Brewing Company Award for Best Writing about Sustainability in Beer and Pubs
  • VisitFlanders Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer
  • Shepherd Neame Award for Best Writing about Pubs
  • Fuller, Smith & Turner Award for Best Young Beer Writer
  • Harvey’s Tom Paine Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator
  • NEW FOR 2021: Guild Award for Best Book about Beer or Pubs
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Trade Media
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Corporate Communications
  • SIBA Brewer of the Year Award (by member vote)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *