Skip to main content
2nd May 2019


The International Brewing and Cider Awards have revealed this year’s Championship trophy winners, recognising just twelve products as the best of the best in beer and cider.

Narrowed down from the 133 medal winners announced earlier this year, the final round of accolades recognises nine beers and three ciders as outstanding examples in their respective categories.

At the International Brewing Awards, Championship Winners included: Firestone Walker, Bentspoke Brewing Co, Purity Brewing Company, Black Sheep Brewery and Big Drop Brewing Co, St. Austell Brewery, Alken-Maes, Fuller, Smith and Turner PLC, and The Wimbledon Brewery Company.

Meanwhile, Stonewell Cider/Finnbarra Cider scooped two of the top cider trophies alongside Hogan’s Cider.

Ruth Evans MBE, Director of Brewing Technology Services who oversee the awards, said:

“The Championship Trophy winners’ announcement is the culmination of a lengthy judging process, where our panel of 50 industry professionals vote for those beers and ciders that they would be prepared to stake their future success on.

“The quality of the entries we receive each year is exceptionally high and our twelve Championship Trophy winners represent the crème de la crème of their respective categories. Congratulations to all!”

Judged by professional brewers and cider-makers from around the world, each winner has been chosen by group consensus rather than a scoring system.

Founded in 1888, the awards aim to reward and recognise the innovation, attention to detail and hard work that goes into beer and cider production.

The Championship Trophy winners were announced on 1 May 2019 at a prestigious awards ceremony at the Guildhall, London.



Championship Trophy Winners – Beer

  • The International Small Pack Lager Competition sponsored by Brewers’ Guardian – Firestone Walker Brewing Co, Firestone Lager
  • The International Small Pack Ale Competition sponsored by British Guild of Beer Writers – Bentspoke Brewing Co, Barley Griffin
  • The International Keg Lager Competition sponsored by BFBi – Fuller, Smith & Turner Plc, Frontier
  • The International Keg Ale Competition sponsored by Drink World – Purity Brewing Company, Longhorn IPA
  • The International Non & Low Alcohol Competition sponsored by All Party Parliamentary Beer Group – Big Drop Brewing Co, Citra Four Hop Pale Ale – Small Pack
  • The International Dark Beer Competition sponsored by Institute of Brewing & Distilling – Black Sheep Brewery, Milk Stout – Small Pack
  • The International Strong Beer Competition sponsored by Brauwelt – St Austell Brewery, Black Square Small Pack
  • The International Speciality Beer Competition sponsored by Barth Haas Group – Alken-Maes, Mort Subite Botanic Lambic Small Pack
  • The International Cask Conditioned Ale Competition sponsored by Morning Advertiser – The Wimbledon Brewery Company, Wimbledon Copper Leaf

Championship Trophy Winners – Cider

  • The International Classic Cider Competition sponsored by The Cider Manual – Hogan’s Cider, Libertine Small Pack
  • The International Flavoured Cider Competition sponsored by BFBi – Stonewell Cider/Finbarra Cider, Stonewell Rós Small Pack
  • The International Innovative Cider Competition sponsored by The Cider Academy – Stonewell Cider/Finbarra Cider, Tawny Small Pack 

Further information can be found at:

Follow latest updates on social media:


Twitter: @BrewingAwards

About International Brewing Awards

The International Brewing Awards is the longest established brewing competition in the world, having first been held in 1888. Since then, the competition is focussed upon searching out excellence and rewarding it across all styles of commercially brewed beer. The winning brands are awarded medals and trophies from the world’s most professional tasting panel, comprised exclusively of experienced commercial brewers.

The competition has evolved and developed with the global industry and has accommodated many changes in the market over its 130 year history.

About International Cider Awards

The International Ciders Awards were reintroduced, as an international recognition of excellence in cider production in 2013.

An award is a recognition by fellow professional cider makers that a cider is an outstanding commercial example of its style. The competition was first established in 1901 and since then has evolved to reflect the changing global market for cider.

The superb technical installation including cider in bottle, can, bag in box, cask and keg ensures integrity of product, dispensed to the judges at the cider maker’s recommended temperature.

For more information or photography about the awards, please contact:  | 0131 555 6911