Skip to main content


Every year, the Guild runs a competition to identify and reward the very best writing, blogging, broadcasting and other communicating about beer and pubs. We present prizes – trophies and cash – to our winners and runners up in nine categories, as well as naming one as our Beer Writer of the Year.

Awards usually open to entries in June, with a deadline in September.  After judging by an independent panel, we publish a shortlist in November, before unveiling our winners at a glittering awards dinner and presentation in London – an event which has become one of the most popular fixtures on the industry calendar.

When the awards are open, details of how to enter, including the categories, criteria and entry forms, will be available from this page. In the meantime, click here for a list of last year’s winners, or view images from the awards presentation and dinner below.

We are grateful to our awards sponsors: Adnams, Badger Ales, Caledonian Brewery, Fuller’s 1845, Molson Coors, Shepherd Neame, St Austell Brewery and  There’s A Beer For That. Their support makes possible both the competition and the dinner.

A selection of photos from last year’s event