Skip to main content

1997 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 1997 Award Winners by category below.


  • Roger Protz


  • Rupert Ponsonby

Highly Commended / Pewter

  • Alastair Gilmour
  • Ian Peaty

Budweiser Budvar Travel Bursary

  • Alastair Leithead