Skip to main content

2010 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

Find a full list of our 2010 Award Winners by category below.


The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2010

  • Winner: Simon Jenkins
Molson-Coors’ Award for Best Writing in National Publications
  • Winner: Zak Avery
  • Runner-up: Adrian Tierney-Jones
Wells & Young’s Awards for Best Writing for the Beer and Pub Trade
  • Winner: Larry Nelson, Brewers’ Guardian
  • Runner-up: Isla Whitcroft
Adnams Award for Best Writing in Regional Publications
  • Winner: Simon Jenkins
  • Runner-up: Duncan Brodie
Budweiser Budvar John White Travel Bursary
  • Winner: John Conen
Bishop’s Finger Award for Beer & Food Writing
  • Winner: Will Beckett
Brains SA Gold Award for Best Online Communication
  • Winner: Mark Dredge
  • Runner-up: Jerry Bartlett
Brewer of the Year
  • Stefano Cossi, Thornbridge Brewery