Skip to main content

2021 Award Winners

The Guild of Beer Writers Awards are the only competition to recognise and reward writing and broader communication about beer and pubs in the UK. We are proud of our award scheme and take it seriously, with a rigorous judging process, a generous prize fund thanks to our sponsors and an awards presentation and dinner in December that has become one of the industry’s top ‘must attend’ events.

The 2021 Annual Awards saw over 150 entries across 13 categories compete for the highest-ever prize fund of £17,000 thanks to our sponsors. Winners were announced at the annual awards ceremony held on 2 December at One Great George Street in London.

Find a full list of our 2021 Award Winners by category below.

Winners of the Guild Awards 2021

2021 Award Winners

The Michael Jackson Gold Award for Beer Writer of the Year 2021

  • Pete Brown


Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Corporate Communications

  • Winner: CAMRA’s Learn & Discover programme: Alex Metcalfe
  • Commended: Fifty Years of CAMRA book: Laura Hadland


Harvey’s Tom Paine Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator

  • Winner:  Gabriele Bertucci for Turning the Tide podcasts
  • Silver Award: Chris Hodgson for CraftBeerChris blogs


Shepherd Neame Award for Best Writing about Pubs

  • Winner: Pete Brown for press and online articles
  • Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones, for articles in The Daily Telegraph


VISITFLANDERS Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

  • Winner: Will Hawkes, for articles in The Washington Post, and others
  • Silver Award: Breandán Kearney, for articles in National Geographic, Good Beer Hunting, and others


Carlsberg Marston’s Brewing Company Award for Best Writing about Sustainability in Beer and Pubs

  • Winner: Hollie Stephens, for writing about carbon capture
  • Silver Award: Tim O’Rourke, for work on carbon footprint


Budweiser Brewing Group UK&I Award for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers

  • Winner: Will Hawkes, for writing in Good Beer Hunting
  • Silver Award: Jonny Garrett, for work in Ferment and on YouTube


Asahi Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

  • Winner: Jonny Garret for Craft Beer Channel and The Bubble
  • Silver Award: Natalya Watson for Beer With Nat


Fuller Smith & Turner Award for Best Young Beer Writer

  • Winner: Ashley Joanna for articles in Belgian Smaak
  • Silver Award: Matthew Rogers for CAMRAngle magazine


Award for Best Book about Beer or Pubs

  • Winner: Pete Brown, Beer By Design
  • Highly Commended: James Morton, From Scratch: Brew


Allsopp’s Award for Best Beer Writer, Trade Media

  • Winner: Hollie Stephens, for articles in Brewer & Distiller International
  • Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones for articles in Imbibe and Brewing & Beverages Industries Business


Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator, Online

  • Winner: Pete Brown for posts on
  • Silver Award: David Jesudason for posts on Pellicle
  • Highly Commended: Mark Dredge for posts on Good Beer Hunting


Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer, Regional Media

  • Winner: Breandán Kearney for articles on Belgian Smaak
  • Silver Award: Rachel Auty for regional broadcasts including Harrogate Community Radio


Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer, National Media

  • Winner: Will Hawkes, for writing in the Washington Post and Beer
  • Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones for writing in the Daily Star, and others
  • Highly Commended: Ruvani de Silva, for writing in Good Beer Hunting, and others


SIBA Award for Brewer of the Year

  • John Hatch, Ram Brewery


More on our 2021 Awards and sponsors here.