Skip to main content
28th June 2022

Brewed for Success: 2022 National Homebrew Competition Winners Announced

32 medals awarded in world’s largest amateur brewing championship

Pittsburgh, Pa. • June 25, 2022 — The American Homebrewers Association® (AHA) – the national not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing the hobby of homebrewing – announced the winners of the 2022 National Homebrew Competition. Winners of the world’s largest amateur homebrew competition were recognized for the most outstanding homemade beer, mead, and cider. 132 medals in 44 categories were awarded to amateur brewers at an awards ceremony Saturday evening during the 44th annual Homebrew Con™ conference in Pittsburgh.

This year’s competition saw more than 2,940 entries from 1,187 homebrewers located in 48 states, Washington, D.C., and seven countries. In total, 159,770 entries have been evaluated since the inaugural AHA National Homebrew Competition in 1979 in Boulder, Colo.

The winners of the most-entered categories were:

Category 3: Pilsner (146 entries)
GOLD: Doug Brown, San Diego, Calif.
SILVER: Larry Bentley, North Plainfield, N.J.
BRONZE: Zach Kosslow, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Category 26: Strong Belgian Ale (124 entries)
GOLD: Joseph Belevender, Warren, Mich.
SILVER: Mark Beck, Portland, Ore.
BRONZE: Brian Lasure, Highlands, N.C.

Category 17: American IPA (117 entries)
GOLD: Max Brown, Antioch, Calif.
SILVER: Mike Bulter, Stephanie Butler, Olathe, Kan.
BRONZE: Eric Bridges, Chula Vista, Calif.

Category 28: Fruit Beer (113 entries)
GOLD: Chico Milani, Florianópolis, Brazil
SILVER: John Spinella, New Hartford, N.Y.
BRONZE: Joseph Daly, Garden City, N.Y.

In addition to category style awards, six major awards recognizing overall brewing excellence were presented.

Homebrewer of the Year Award – Sponsored by Muntons Malted Ingredients
Recognizes the best-of-show beer judged from all gold medal winners in all beer categories.
Brian Phillips, Nora Springs, Iowa, Iowa/Minn. Society of Brewers (IAMNSOB)

Cidermaker of the Year Award – Sponsored by Woodchuck Hard Cider
Recognizes the best-of-show cider judged from all gold medal winners in the cider categories.
Michael Wilcox, Wichita, Kan., Kansas City Bier Meisters

Meadmaker of the Year Award – Sponsored by Redstone Meadery
Recognizes the best-of-show mead judged from all gold medal winners in the mead categories.
Allen Martin, Gilbert, Ariz., Arizona Society of Homebrewers

Samuel Adams Ninkasi Award – Sponsored by Samuel Adams
Recognizes the entrant who accumulates the most points in the final round of competition.
Timothy Lambert, Albuquerque, N.M.

Gambrinus Club Award – Sponsored by LD Carlson
Recognizes the club garnering the most final round points per total club entries.
Keepers of Craft, Kalamazoo, Mich.

Homebrew Club of the Year Award – Sponsored by Canada Malting | Great Western Malting
Awarded to the club accumulating the most total points in all categories of beer, mead, and cider in the final round of competition.
Kansas City Bier Meisters, Kansas City, Mo.

“Year after year, the judges are impressed by the mastery and creativity of the entries from around the world,” said Chris Williams, competition director. “Congratulations to this year’s champions for their excellence in brewing.”

A complete list of winners of the 2022 National Homebrew Competition can be found here.

This year’s 44th annual Homebrew Con returned to an in-person three-day conference where more than 1,300 homebrewers and fermentation hobbyists attended educational sessions and social events, including a mini craft beer festival and “Club Night,” featuring 45 U.S. homebrew clubs with elaborate booths and creative brews. During the NHC awards ceremony, individuals and businesses were also recognized for their outstanding contributions to the homebrewing community.ANNUAL RECOGNITION AWARDS
Radegast Club of the Year Award – Sponsored by Yakima Chief Hops
Awarded to a homebrew club for its efforts with community outreach and spreading the joys of homebrewing.
Three Rivers Underground Brewers (T.R.U.B.), Carnegie, Pa.

Homebrew Shop of the Year Award – Sponsored by BSG HandCraft
Awarded to homebrew supply shops on the merits of community support, education, customer service and engagement, promotion of homebrewing, and responsible business practices.
Gnome Brew, Chicago, Ill.

American Homebrewers Association Governing Committee Award
Awarded for outstanding service to the community of homebrewers.
Denny Conn, Eugene, Ore.

“Homebrewing makes life more delicious and this year’s award winners set the standard for community stewardship and brewing and fermentation excellence,” said Julia Herz, AHA executive director. “Cheers and congratulations to all the winners.”

The 45th annual Homebrew Con will take place June 22-24, 2023, in San Diego, CA. Subscribe to the newsletter here.The 2022 National Homebrew Competition and Homebrew Con were made possible in part by the generous support of sponsors.

About the American Homebrewers Association®
The American Homebrewers Association (AHA) has worked on behalf of the homebrewing community since 1978 and celebrates a membership of more than 37,000 homebrewers. The AHA organizes events including Homebrew Con™, National Homebrew Competition, Big Brew for National Homebrew Day, and Learn to Homebrew Day. The AHA also publishes Zymurgy®, the longest-running magazine for homebrewers. The AHA is part of the Brewers Association®, whose Brewers Publications® division is the largest publisher of contemporary and relevant brewing literature for today’s craft brewers and homebrewers.

Beer lovers, fermentation fans, and anyone interested in making their own homemade beer are invited to learn more at Follow the AHA on Instagram and Twitter, and join us on Facebook.

Press release from the American Homebrewers Association