Skip to main content
23rd September 2020

Budweiser Brewing Group sponsors new Guild Award for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers

Budweiser Brewing Group UK&I is launching a new category in this year’s British Guild of Beer Writers Annual Awards. The Award for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers will reward the best writing or other communication on this growing sector of the beer market.

The new Award takes the total number of categories this year to nine, with entries open until 30 September. Submissions to the No and Low Alcohol Beers category can be press articles in trade or consumer-facing publications, blogs, radio or TV broadcasts or podcasts.

Timiko Cranwell, Director of Legal and Corporate Affairs at Budweiser Brewing Group said: “At Budweiser Brewing Group, we’re committed to championing responsible drinking. We continue to expand our wide range of no and low-alcohol beers and are very excited to launch this new award. Educating people about the great choices in the no/low category is instrumental in helping them make smart choices.

“Over recent years the development of the category has provided plenty of interesting content for the writers within the Guild. We’re proud to be rewarding the best writing in this field and hope to inspire more dialogue on the topic.”

Guild Chair Pete Brown said: “No and low alcohol beers are one of the most dynamic sectors in our industry and set to become even more so in the years ahead.  We’re thrilled that Budweiser is making this award possible.”

The closing date for this year’s Awards is Wednesday 30 September. Details for all the awards can be found on the Guild’s website

Finalists will be announced in November and the winners in each category, and the overall Beer Writer of the Year 2020, named in December via Zoom –  social distancing precluding the Guild’s annual dinner. Entries must have been published between 1 September 2019 and 30 September 2020 to be eligible.

Judges this year are: Tim Anderson, chef-owner of Japanese restaurant Nanban and beer expert; Gabe Cook, award winning cider expert, (aka The Ciderologist); Jez Galaun, co-founder of Brixton Brewery; Kate Oppenheim, hospitality sector journalist and communications expert, currently publisher and editor of BII News and Tom Stainer, CAMRA chief executive. The current Beer Writer of the Year, Jonny Garrett, chairs the panel.

The categories

  • Asahi Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer
  • NEW: Budweiser Brewing Group Award for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers
  • Carlsberg UK Award for Best Writing on Sustainability in Beer and Pubs
  • Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer, Print Publications
  • Harvey’s Tom Paine Award for Best Beer Citizen Communicator
  • Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator, Online
  • NEW: Shepherd Neame Award for Best Beer & Pub Communications during lockdown
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Broadcaster
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Corporate Communications
  • SIBA Brewer of the Year Award (by member vote)