Skip to main content
23rd June 2015

Search for best beer writing begins – Guild of Beer Writers launches annual competition


Entries are now open for the British Guild of Beer Writers’ Awards 2015, with a total prize fund of £10,500 and a stellar line up of judges from the worlds of television, radio and print journalism.

Writers, broadcasters, bloggers, photographers and filmmakers are invited to submit their work by 4 September into any of the competition’s eight categories. Entries will be judged on how well they further the Guild’s mission “to extend public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs”.

The judges this year are: Sarah Bridge, leisure correspondent at the Mail on Sunday; Sheila Dillon, presenter of BBC’s The Food Programme: Nick Hewer, Countdown presenter and lately of The Apprentice and Larry Nelson, publisher of Brewers’ Guardian. Robert Humphreys MBE, the Parliamentary Beer Group’s current Beer Drinker of the Year and a long-serving Guild committee member, chairs the panel.

Guild chairman Tim Hampson said, “Beer writing is generating more interest now than at any point in the Guild’s history as growing numbers of media outlets devote more column inches to our national drink. The role of the Guild in promoting informed and engaging communication about beer has never been more important and we are delighted to be starting this year’s search for the best.

“We are, as always, grateful to our sponsors. Their generosity makes possible the competition and the awards dinner which we are confident will once again be one of the most popular events on the drinks industry’s calendar.”

Entries and nominations – from fellow writers, publishers or friends – are invited for eight categories:

  • Molson Coors Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media. Prize of £1,000 for winner and £500 for runner-up
  • Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media.  Prize £1,000 and £500
  • Fuller’s 1845 Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media. Prize £1,000 and £500
  • Caledonian Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online. Prize £1,000 and £500
  • Shepherd Neame Classic Collection Award for Best Beer and Food Writer. Prize £1,000 and £500
  • Badger Ales Award for Best Young Beer Writer – Prize £1,000 and £500
  • Guild Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer. Prize £1,000 and £500
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications. Prize trophy to the winner

The category winners and runners-up will be unveiled at the British Guild of Beer Writers annual awards dinner, as well as the overall Beer Writer of the Year, who receives the Michael Jackson Gold Tankard Award. The Guild also bestows the Brewer of the Year title on one brewer at the same event.

The dinner is being held on Thursday 3 December at the Park Lane Hotel in London. The hotel chef, with expert advice from Guild members, will create a menu designed to showcase beer and food matching for the 200+ guests expected to attend.

Full details of all eight categories in the Awards, and guidance on how to enter, can be found on the British Guild of Beer Writers website:

Entries must be received by the closing date of Friday 4 September, and must have been published between 1 September 2014 and 31 August 2015.


Issued on behalf of:    British Guild of Beer Writers

By:                               ShielPorter Communications

Further information:    Ros Shiel, 07841 694137 /

Tim Hampson, 07768 614238 /